Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I've just kind of been stalking these forums for a while now but I figure it's time that I step out of the box and speak for myself. I am a student in NY in the States, which means that it's fairly young for me to have an Audi A5 right now - but the car is very appealing and my parents are very generous.

Just a few things when looking on the forums. Right now I have an order for a:
- 2009 Audi A5 Black Exterior
- Cinnamon Brown Interior
- B&O Sound System
- Premium Package
- Navigation Package
- Technology Package

Basically the car is fully loaded. it MSRPs at 49,465$ US dollars. I got the car (special order, it arrives in June) for 47,465$ US - after taxes, shipping regisration, etc comes out to about 52,000$ US. Is this a good deal? Or should I argue more. The dealer told me that for the Audi A5s they usually dont take off a penny. Is this true?

Another factor that was on my mind was reliability. Reading the forums it looks like this car is fundamentally flawed when it comes to the Engine. Is this true? How reliable is the car? Remember - I am in college and I dont want to be visiting the audi dealership every month because something went wrong for a few reasons:

1) I am only 19. They take me as a joke and they didn't think I was serious until I dropped the money on the table. I fear if I come in with a problem they will refuse to fix it.

2) My parents are buying me a luxury car because often I have to travel alot (600kms one way) and I need something reliable and comfortable. I dont want to spend 50,000$ on a car that will break down on me!

So what are your views on its reliability as well? Do you recommend the extended warrantee? If so, which one?

Oh, and one more question. Are the 19''s worth it? If they are I was thinking of trading in the B&O sound system for the 19s - your views?

Thanks a bunch

·
Registered
6,346 Posts