Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve never done this before and I’ve not read anything on here about anyone doing the same.
I want to SORN my vehicle over the winter months but have it properly insured in case of all eventualities but also have it SORN’d to save me roughly £300 on road tax yearly when the vehicle is hibernating. I wanted to make sure that if I SORN’d my car and something happened the SORN would not invalidate my cover. You hear these days that insurance companies can use any excuse not to pay out. Anyway, I called my insurance company today and fully discussed this point with them. I asked they input electronic notes into my history file so our discussions were recorded. What they are offering is to keep my car fully covered but remove legal, breakdown etc when it’s hibernating, the fact that my car will be SORN’d will not affect cover, when I call again in spring and add these extras again there will be no admin fee. All I have to do in the spring time is to tax my vehicle again and that automatically takes the car off SORN. I just want peace of mind that I’m fully insured whilst the car is hibernating over the winter period and I’ve the bonus of saving on road tax.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
Ive not seen anything in insurance terms where they would exclude this as theres no justifiable reason for them to do so.
I suggest you call them as a 'new' customer and ask the same question as some of the cs staff on the phone are a bit dopey and are happy to provide wrong information.
SORN is mainly for the Govt to ensure you dont keep a untaxed vehicle on the road.

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #3