Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have enjoyed viewing the site for the last month...great discussions from a knowledgeable fan base. I am in the process of debating which new car to purchase later this year. Perhaps someone could enlighten me on why you chose the S5? What other cars did you consider? My choices at this point are the S5, M3, CLS 550 and the new Jaquar XF. Thanks in advance for the helpful insight!
Oh yeah, be kind...I am a rookie! :D

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
I was looking at the Jaguar XFR but its not out yet. Not a fan of the BMW 3 series as its too common. Mercs just dont do it for me at that price range.

S5 won on its overall packaging. Looks, feel, comfort, engine. Not the best in any one area but the best at giving you everything.

·
Registered
63 Posts
The S5 was for us because
  • WIF - Wife Influential Factor, she wanted us (Evan and I) in a AWD car
  • Looks
  • Interior
  • Feel on the road
  • Overall features

As AWD cars go there is not much out there that can touch this given eveything else. If I removed that as a criteria then I would have probably gone with an E46 style M3 competition edition with SMG mainly because I always wanted a M3. The interior of the BMW is doesn't even touch the S5 so I am extremely happy with my purchase.

My buddy has a BMW 335 so over the weekend we were switching back and forth. Although both are comparable on the numbers, only after back to back tests did I began to understand what most professional shootouts (aka car and driver, automobile, etc..) are talking about when they say that the 335 is more fun when pushed than the S5. The 335 does give you a "better sense of the road". In fact, even he said that if he had to decide today he would have went for the S5...so how is that for justification!