Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at this voice control but decided to give it a try.

My cell phone is a Samsung U740 and for the most part, it syncs up the bluetooth fine.

Using the VAG-COM I just got yesterday, I'm now able to give voice commands.

I bring up my phone book so I can see my entries. I press the voice activation button and issue a command like "select name" or "call Chris" but it continues to say "the phonebook is empty".

What am I missing here? Are there additional settings in the ECU that need to be turned on?

It's clearly showing entries in the phone book via the MMI screen. I thought perhaps it needs to be stored somewhere but that didn't make sense to me unless the MMI has some storage capability and I need to store numbers there.

At one point, I said "radio" and it dialed a phone number!

·
Premium Member
860 Posts
You need to record voice tags for those numbers/names you wish to call. It is all explained in the manual - should you care to check. :)

You can read a phone number out and it will dial it i.e. '1-8-0-0 -1-2-3-4-5-6 dial' (the 'dial' may come at the beginning - I'm doing this from memory).

At least this is the required procedure on UK cars with 'phone prep low'. Your specification may vary of course.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I read a bit about tags but not quite sure about the whole process.

It did recognise "help"
and it did dial numbers so I can at least dial number out loud.

Thanks. I'll try the name tags.

·
Premium Member
860 Posts
Again, off the top of my head from memory, it goes something like this:

1. Highlight the phone book entry you wish to tag
2. press the voice button
3. say 'store', car reponds with 'say name' or something similar
4. say the name or tag that you want
5. I think it gets repeated back to you and then you're done.