Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to tracking, and my S5 is currently at 3.5k miles... should I do an oil change? My 5k oil change is coming up, and that is included in the Audi Service package, so I don't want to spend more money than I need too. (This is a leased car if that helps?, I still baby this thing though)

·
Registered
2,335 Posts
I'd probably change it after, more importantly I would upgrade the brake pads to semi race spec/fast street ones as they will fade fast on the stock ones. Personally I think the S5 brakes are a bit weedy and the first thing I do when the pads need changed is to upgrade them probably to something like EBC Yellowstuff Pads all round, not sure if you get them in the US but I used the Green and then the Red ones one my previous cars and was very pleased with them.

You can see the yellow ones here: http://www.ebcbrakes.com/yellowstuffinfo.html

Also is the first oil change included free of charge here in the UK??

·
Registered
373 Posts
Question guys or SAJ i checked my MMI display and service interval along with oil change is due at 18200 miles so why has a lot of S5 members changed there oil under 10000 miles?
Sorry a little off topic but about oil change anways.

My S5 has currently 2200 miles on,should i change oil under 10000 miles or just wait until it is officially due.

Thanks Dave.

·
Registered
677 Posts
My .02.

I would change the oil from the stuff out of the factory. There are bits of metal and sealers from the new engine breaking in. Otherwise I would change afterwards if in between a normal service.

On brakes it is most important to change the brake fluid to high temp stuff. I recommend Motul RBF600. This is a bigger benefit than better pads. I would still do the pads but fluid is a better first choice.

·
Registered
2,335 Posts