Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
Ive been surfing this forum for about 2 months now. I recently placed an order for a 6speed S5 in Phantom BLK. Production date is early April for mine.

I'm having hesitations on whether I should change my order to Tiptronic. Problem is no one has driven that transmission in the S5, so I dont have any feedback or reference. Im used to driving a DSG or SMG tranny having owned both a GTI and E46 M3. But I dont mind driving a manual, in fact I look forward to it.

However, where I'm from, selling a manual S5 will be much harder.. and It would probably fetch a much lower price than an auto. But the main issue really is performance and feel: how much slower would the Tiptronic be versus the manual if at all? Would the tiptronic feel much more sluggish and sap power? I cant imagine it being as quick as a DSG. I need to decide within the next day or two so quick responses are appreciated.
thanks

·
Registered
135 Posts
I think that if you can drive a manual, stick with the manual as it's the most involving and enjoyable way to drive a car.

Recent Tiptronics are very good, so good in fact that measurable performance numbers rival those of the DSG and manual versions. Many people reference their memories of tiptronics from years ago but they have improved quite a bit. Even with the torque converter, shifts are crisp and fast, and the computer does rev matching quite well.

I've driven the DSG in the TT, A3 and GTI and it's excellent technology but most people exaggerate the advantages over Tiptronic. It's still the same driving experience, pressing the gas and using the steering wheel. A bit like driving a golf cart or a go cart.