Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am a complete novice to remapping, power boosting and chipping so could use a little guidance.

How would I go about getting the power (BHP) output increased in my car?

What is the likely increase in power and will this be noticeable in the performance of the car?

Does an increase in power also mean uprating brakes etc?

What are the risks associated with this type of thing?

Are there reputable places that carry out this type of work (recommendations in the Nottinghamshire region would be good)?

Is it expensive?

Sorry if I am going over old ground here, but having read some of the posts on this subject, I am still a little confused:confused::confused:.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Hi Explosivo,

We havnt really gone over this in full detail, and some of the questions i'd like to know aswell, someone with a little more knowledge will reply hopefully :).

I can say that you have 2 options, an external tuning box, and a software ECU remap(which generally have better gains i think).

There isnt a remap available for the 3.0tdi, but is very close to being sorted by APS i think, they were the first to bring the S5/1.8/2.0 remaps so i have faith in there ability to bring it to the market first.

Tuning boxes are a lot more expensive usually. But there are a lot on the market now. I think we could do with someone creating a list of all the tuning boxes available with the quoted gains and reviews.

Anyway hope someone else can answer your questions in more detail.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Explosivo,

We havnt really gone over this in full detail, and some of the questions i'd like to know aswell, someone with a little more knowledge will reply hopefully :).

I can say that you have 2 options, an external tuning box, and a software ECU remap(which generally have better gains i think).