Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks! I'm new to Audi/VW and I have a few questions...

1) May I know why ppl want 'TDI'? Isn't Diesel gas hard to find among gas stations in US (in Seattle where I'm at) and therefore very inconvenient? I was under impression that diesel cars cause pollutions (at least when I was a little..all these diesel trucks!)... apparently that's not the case nowadays...

2) What do people pay for their A5's nowadays? MSRP or what's the % of discount?

Thank you in advance for your input...

·
Registered
463 Posts
Hey cellg8, welcome to the forum. First, update your profile with your location please.

I don't know if the A5 TDI will come to the US, apparently the new A4 will have TDI engine available.

Diesel are clean nowadays, many car brands are changing to diesel. Ferrari had a bio-diesel F430 at the Detriot autoshow, the R8 lemans concept is also diesel. I believe that because its clean the US will have more diesel cars available soon, and gas stations have to go along with it. Oh, and the new diesels are fast too, so its all good :)

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Modern turbo-diesels do have lower CO2 emissions than equivalent sized gasoline engines, but on the other hand they do produce more other pollutants/harmful particles. DPF and AdBlue and things like that go towards solving those issues, but they are not always standard - nor do they fully solve all issues of course so the debate (and development) continues which engine type is cleaner...

Of course diesels also have better miles per gallon than gasoline engines usually have, which does have additional environmental (and financial...) impact.

It is not a black and white issue, diesels are quite trendy in Europe at the moment though, but I think developmens in gasoline engines like FSI and of course turbo charging will keep both juices running in our engines for a while...

·
Registered
41 Posts