Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2011 A5
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this question has been posted before, but I couldn't find any discussion thread on this topic. My 2011 A5 driver's side tail light has a fracture in the red plastic. Debating whether to buy OEM replacement from dealer or purchase an aftermarket part? This is my first time sourcing a replacement part on my own and I would appreciate all opinions, advice, or links to any recommended resources.

·
Registered
Audi A5 f5 3.0 TDI Quattro S line S tronic Virtual Cockpit Driving assist pack
975 Posts
Could try these
UK based company and the OP is from US the rear lights have a different configuration than UK.

For the OP, if you know how to remove the taillight then do so and get the part number from it. If you replace it like for like via eBay or a secondhand source then it will continue to work as normal just keep to the SAME part number and not deviate. Purchasing aftermarket parts you’re going to be gambling whether it works with your car or the light configurations are the same or not. If you cannot afford a new original part then a secondhand one would be the most efficient way.

~Alex

·
Registered
2011 A5
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
UK based company and the OP is from US the rear lights have a different configuration than UK.

For the OP, if you know how to remove the taillight then do so and get the part number from it. If you replace it like for like via eBay or a secondhand source then it will continue to work as normal just keep to the SAME part number and not deviate. Purchasing aftermarket parts you’re going to be gambling whether it works with your car or the light configurations are the same or not. If you cannot afford a new original part then a secondhand one would be the most efficient way.

~Alex