Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I have been looking at getting an A5 3.0 TDI BE but I’m a little concerned if I will not see any issues straight away.

this is my first time buying an audi and I’m not sure on what common issues may be hidden. What should look I out for? I’ve been speaking with an owner currently and they said everything has been fine on the car other than them changing the wheels. It’s a 2013 A5 3.0 with 72k miles on it. Should I look at a more newer one rather an going for the older one?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Hi there

First thing: "It’s a 2013 A5 3.0 with 72k miles on it. Should I look at a more newer one rather an going for the older one? " - That statement has its own questions!
  • What is your budget?
  • Where are you wanting to buy from?
    • Audi used approved - dealers? (1 years warranty for example)
    • Trade (not audi dealers)? (3 months warranty for example)
    • Private? (no warranty...)
  • What research have you already done on A5s - looking for common failing issues
    • Search this forum for a start.
  • Can you take a knowledgeable mechanic with you to view cars?
    • Do you know one?
    • Can you pay for one?
  • Does the car you're after have full service history?
    • Dealer history?
    • Independent garage history?
    • Documented evidence?
Next - "I’m a little concerned if I will not see any issues straight away. "
  • What is meant by straight away?
    • During a test drive?
    • 1 week later?
    • 1 month later?
    • 1 year later?
    • The person selling the car may not know there's an issue. The issue may arise from your driving style?
      • They drive like Miss Daisy
      • You drive like Colin McRae!
And - "I’ve been speaking with an owner currently and they said everything has been fine on the car other than them changing the wheels"
  • How far away is the current owner?
  • How long have they owned the car?