Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to this but could do with some help...
I have an A5 2009 coupe. A couple of days ago the drivers side door handle stopped working from the outside (zero resistance so I thought maybe the cable had snapped - was working from the inside though).
I was due to get that fixed this week however in some sort of weird coincidence the central locking is now not working from either of the fobs.
So I am unable to use the manual key as the driver door decided to revolt, there is no key slot (?) on the passenger side or the boot and so I can not get in!
I presume the central locking is not working because the battery is dead (used it a few days ago though).
Any help would be great! 😁

·
Registered
Audi A5 f5 3.0 TDI Quattro S line S tronic Virtual Cockpit Driving assist pack
887 Posts
Oh that’s a tough one,

Common problem with door lock actuator failing and needing replacement.

however if your battery is also dead then you really are locked out unless you get the door wedge kit where you can open the door from the inside? Get the bonnet open, and jump start so you can open things up?

Sounds like a nightmare to be honest.
Good luck and let us know how you get on.

~Alex

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks!
Would the battery being dead be the only reason the key fobs wouldn’t unlock it. Tell me there’s another reason... 🙏🏻
If I am actually locked out (completely in denial currently), is a door wedge easy or should I just call someone?!
Thank you!

·
Registered
70 Posts
If the battery is dead I've read a suggestion/tip on the A5 FB page to raise the car so as to get access to the starter motor terminals. If you put power (jump leads) to one of the terminals & an earth (chassis) it should give power to the battery to enable you to use the central locking.......be careful when connecting to the starter motor that you don't short to the body/chassis.