Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
He

Is there anyone out there with an A5 with adaptive cruise control specifically radar 8k0907561B.

If so are you able do you have the facility to go into the coding on vag and tell me what the coding is under the auto distance reg section.

Mine is saying incorrectly coded.

Is a used radar, component protection has been removed it all seems to be working I believe, for the life of me I don't know what the coding should be I've tried everything and have no idea why it's changed as the part number is exactly the same as my old dud one.

Cheers.

Ps I'll try to attach a full scan tomorrow.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
588 Posts
What was the coding for the old unit? Was this transferred to the replacement unit? It is likely reporting the code issue as the car it came from had different options to yours such as auto gearbox, drive select or a trailer.
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What was the coding for the old unit? Was this transferred to the replacement unit? It is likely reporting the code issue as the car it came from had different options to yours such as auto gearbox, drive select or a trailer.
Ah yes that sounds about right. Stupidly I never thought of that before fitting the new unit. Just assumed the coding would be the same. Didn't cross my mind about other options.

I have had a trailer retro fitted so I'm going to remove that module, unplug the radar and try to reset my coding somehow and start from there I guess. Not a clue.....

I'm still fuming that a 3k option on the car has corroded so badly. I'd taken the old unit apart and it was royally F'd the rubber seal was useless.

If anyone has one, protect that little box with your life.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
588 Posts
They are not located in the best place and do pick up salty water from the road. I bought one to retrofit (not done it yet) and it is also a little corroded.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
588 Posts
Was your old unit non responsive? If so you may have an old VCDS scan where you can find the code. Just use that in the replacement unit. No need to disconnect the trailer (the gateway will then throw coding errors)
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
They are not located in the best place and do pick up salty water from the road. I bought one to retrofit (not done it yet) and it is also a little corroded.
I got my used one from Australia, only one I could find with the same part number. I opened it carefully to check. Then sprayed the seal and casing with white grease, hoping that helps some.
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I believe the security code is 91153 if I remember correctly, mine keeps saying its blocked and unavailable sometimes. I think it needs recalibrating.
Cheers.

I think I'm going to start by plugging in the old one and seeing if that shows a different code and take it from there.
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
So I believe I've got it.
The retro fitted westfella detachable towbar was causing issues. I've unplugged it and deselected it in all modules. The towbar was also messing with the tyre sensors throwing up issues.
My optional equipment sticker states I have 7K1 with is the direct tyre pressure monitoring system I believe. However I haven't got that I have the indirect system. I ticked 7k1 and the 7k6 in the abs module and it seemed to like that.
So with the towbar removed and 7k1 and 7k6 ticked I've managed to clear all the codes and the adaptive cruise control module also seems happy.
It all came about when I went to have the component protection removed from the radar and have it calibrated. The protection was removed fine but the guy couldn't code or calibrate it because of the conflicts in the system modules.

So I've managed to clear it all, I'll drive it for a few days then all being well I'll go back to get it calibrated. Then hopefully I can reconnect the towbar and have it all working like it was before the radar died.

What a royal pain in the arse this lot has been so far.

BTW, Audi where no help at any point. Condescending and disinterested from the outset. Very happy to take 3k to renew and fit a new radar mind.
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
You need to get the radar coded for your car with your options. Once you enable the trailer the radar will throw errors again.
Yes, the guy calibrating it was also coding it. However he couldn't download the coding from the server because of the other conflicts in various modules due to the towbar.

Audi had removed the towbar coding when diagnosing the radar issue, they wouldn't recode the towbar as they hadn't fitted it.
I coded it after this, perhaps not 100% correctly but it worked fine (I needed the towbar for my trailer for some bike trackdays I had booked)

So with it removed and no other conflicts I believe the guy car download and code the radar to my car from the server.

I can then look into having towbar express recode the towbar once the radar is up and running.

The only code the radar is now throwing is that it's misaligned. No other issues in any other modules. I did have 5.
 

·
Registered
2014 A5 Quattro Sportback Black Edition
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
What was the coding for the old unit? Was this transferred to the replacement unit? It is likely reporting the code issue as the car it came from had different options to yours such as auto gearbox, drive select or a trailer.
So in regards to this I unplugged to new radar and plugged in the old one. Unfortunately the old one was so dead it wouldn't comunicate so I couldn't retrieve any coding from it.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top