Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the risk of sounding stupid, I'm a newbie to this site and it's lingo and audi's in general. Could someone please explain to me terms like VAG, B&O, MMI, DRL, and other words terms you guys use:confused:

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not trying to sound sarcastic but have you gone to audi.com yet?
yes lol is there a section where they explain all this to you. I havent really been around the site too much most of the time i just check out the models or have fun with configurator.

·
Registered
117 Posts
I've been spending way too much time on here lately, but since I'm here now and no one else has answered your questions yet, I will do my best.

B&O = Bang & Olufsen stereo (optional upgrade)
MMI = Multi Media Interface (for navigation, stereo, phone, car set up...)
DRL = Daytime Running Lights (the strip of LEDs under the headlights)

I'll leave VAG for someone else to define. I have a general idea, but I'm still confused about that one.

Have fun -- this is a great forum! (And it's a great car;))

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Agreed on the B&O, DRL and MMI as above. DRL of course means any daytime running lights in general (separate lights in the front light fixture that are used during daytime hours instead of the main headlights to save energy and spare the main headlights from unnecessary wear), on the A5 these of course usually refers to the LED strips that come with the Xenon lights, but the halogen front lights also have a version of DRL that uses, I believe two per side, regular bulbs.