Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm a new Audi owner, I've been lurking around a bunch of other Audi forums trying to find other people in my geographic area, and to try to learn as much as I can from the collective experience of other people who've had more time with their Audis than I have.

While I'm new to Audi, I've owned or cared for several European cars in the past (Mercedes, BMW, Volvo, Saab)... have had a stable of Japanese cars (Infiniti, Nissan, Toyota, Lexus, Subaru) and American cars as well, so I think I have a fair take on what are the relative pros and cons of cars representative of many manufacturers and from different parts of the world.

Now this group here at A5OC seems to be pretty accepting and appreciative of other cars... but what I think I'm seeing on these other forums, unfortunately, is that there's a stuck-up-ness about Audi cars in particular (understandable) and the IMO almost blind preception of superiority of German (Audi) cars over anything produced anywhere else, with the almost racial/ethnic issue driving it.

Personally, being of Asian decent, this makes me a little uncomfortable to read some of these comments about "Jap crap cars" etc.

Am I totally off base here? Has anyone else come across or see this?

·
Registered
2,335 Posts
I've never owned any other make of car except for Audi. However it has never made me feel that the brand is superior to others no matter what (which is the weird perception and radical views you get on other forums).

Prime example is www.autospies.com I actually think its a bunch of kids that are on this site.