Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Buddy of mine has a new 6 speed BMW 335i and I'm not so sure of the specs. He says he chipped the engine out too 300hp (he may be talking from his A%$). Question is: would the 3.2 L Quattro take it to him, or would it be close? Take in mind that both cars are U.S. spec. I'm no car expert; just want the one up for good ole at work converse! :D

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have a 335i, and I'm going to be quite honest in saying I don't think it will be too close. The 335i is a direct competitor to the S5 more or less, with the 328i more in line with the A5 in terms of specs. If he is indeed chipped, that car will push out well over 300 hp since the engine is already underrated stock.

I can also tell you that the A5 looks a lot better when you're driving, so you do have the one up there :) But in a straight line and most likely through curves, I don't think it'll be a close race.

This video may help –
http://youtube.com/watch?v=aHj0zbhjLZI

The 335i edges out the S5 at the track, without a chip.

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
He thanks for the speedy response, now I'll no to keep my mouth shut at work! Damit - well my car will look better!

·
Registered
750 Posts
To add just a bit, there are a couple of members here who also drive an S5 who said you'll be able (in an S5) to take the 335 off of the start (thanks to all of the torque), but at speed the 335 (even un-chipped) takes the cake.

I agree on the looks, although my second choice was the 335. :cool:

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
must be just me who thinks the 3series coupe can look brilliant

·
Registered
1,251 Posts
Hello.

I have got A5 3.0TDI and it should be pretty much same acceleration wise with the 3.2 V6 model.
Well, from 100-200KPH it takes 15 seconds for my A5, and 12.5 seconds for 335i.

I would say don't even bother unless you don't really care to lose.....335i is faster indeed.