Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I have been looking through this website for quite some time now and have finally decided to become a member! I'm looking to buy a used Audi A5 towards the end of this year. (just on a side note, my brother-in-law owns a RS4 and my sister has a Q7, both being quattro) Since the A5 came out, I have has my mind set on buying one, apart from the A7, they are in my opinion the best looking audi!

Anyway to get to my question, I'm looking to purchase an A5 and my budget is only around 35k as I'm still a uni student. As all of you would know, the fwd audis have a bad wrap for their torque steer. Although I have noticed that a lot of this negative talk is coming from colder countries where it snows (I'm in Qld, Australia so we never get snow here). Would it be reasonable to say that considering I would not have to deal with snow and icy roads that having quattro won't be as big of an issue? I currently own a honda integer type R which is fwd and admittedly it can get extremely annoying in the wet cause you have to drive like a granny in order to not understeer, will this be just the same with the A5 non-quattro or should the audi handle the road better?

p.s. If any of you have multitronic, can you please tell me if you have ever had any problems with it?

·
Registered
385 Posts
Save up your money and get a quattro - you won't regret it. I personally dislike the multitronic box - drive a loaner A4 with one and it was the worst drive of my life - even worse than driving a FIAT 850 with a slipping clutch.

·
Registered
38 Posts