Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
A5 B8 Coupe 3.0TDI 240HP - Manual transmission
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,
I was just wondering if it would be possible to fit 7" screen in MY2010 B8 with Audi Concert, which originaly comes with smaller 6.5" display.
Is it possible to "retrofit" it ?
Thanks a lot :)
 

·
Registered
Audi A5 f5 3.0 TDI Quattro S line S tronic Virtual Cockpit Driving assist pack
Joined
·
816 Posts
Hello,

From memory when I had the B8, if I recall, the 2g models (6.5”)had a different connector to the higher 3G+ models(which is usually the 7” screens) and an additional input for the GPS too. And the concert symphony is the 2g one I’m afraid!

I bought an aftermarket system in the end with 7” touchscreen and running android to connect to my 2g system.

On a side note you’ll need an upgraded trim to fit the bigger 7” or you’ll miss some of that extra real estate behind the old 6.5” trim

7” trim piece part number:8T2 857 185 H (Rhd UK)

Hope this helped!
~Alex
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Hi. I got 2012 S5 (no gps no MMI). Was looking to buy android radio from Alibaba, bit they don't do for RHD :/ and can only offer 10.5 screen which sticks out like a sore thumb. Where else shall I look and what's the solution? Thanks
 

·
Registered
A5 B8 Coupe 3.0TDI 240HP - Manual transmission
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you guys very much, I appreciate that :) God bless
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Hi. I got 2012 S5 (no gps no MMI). Was looking to buy android radio from Alibaba, bit they don't do for RHD :/ and can only offer 10.5 screen which sticks out like a sore thumb. Where else shall I look and what's the solution? Thanks
I have the exact same audi symphony system small 6.5 inch screen and no buttons behind the gear stick. I fitted a wireless android auto and carplay system in myself for a couple hundred, its bloody brilliant, everything looks oem and the the steering controls work too
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Funny enough I've just removed my RSNav from my A4 the other day which had a symphony system. Took it out because I upgraded the car to an A5 which has MMI 3g+ so its not compatible. I was going to put it on ebay but if you are interested you can have it for £250. When it's installed it looks like the factory screen only a bit bigger. I have the reverse camera for it also just needs a new AV lead.

20210417_153050.jpg
20210417_152536.jpg
20210417_152121.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Funny enough I've just removed my RSNav from my A4 the other day which had a symphony system. Took it out because I upgraded the car to an A5 which has MMI 3g+ so its not compatible. I was going to put it on ebay but if you are interested you can have it for £250. When it's installed it looks like the factory screen only a bit bigger. I have the reverse camera for it also just needs a new AV lead.

View attachment 180317 View attachment 180318 View attachment 180319
Is it the aftermarket one or genuine Audi? Will it work with S5 wiring loom and steering wheel controls? Where about in UK you are?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
I have the exact same audi symphony system small 6.5 inch screen and no buttons behind the gear stick. I fitted a wireless android auto and carplay system in myself for a couple hundred, its bloody brilliant, everything looks oem and the the steering controls work too
Where did you buy it mate? I struggle to fibd one. There is one on eBay but 600 including fitting in Northampton. Don't need fitting, just want the unit
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
It's an aftermarket android unit. Rsnav.com they don't make this particular unit anymore but that's where it came from. As long as you have the concert or symphony stereo currently installed it should work. It won't work with any of the higher spec units as they communicate differently. It comes with the adapter loom which is all plug and play. It does work with the steering controls.

I'm in Leigh-on-sea Essex.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
It's an aftermarket android unit. Rsnav.com they don't make this particular unit anymore but that's where it came from. As long as you have the concert or symphony stereo currently installed it should work. It won't work with any of the higher spec units as they communicate differently. It comes with the adapter loom which is all plug and play. It does work with the steering controls.

I'm in Leigh-on-sea Essex.
What about the surround trim? Will I need to replace that since mine is 6.5"? Also does your radio have touch screen and full android like chinese ones?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
What about the surround trim? Will I need to replace that since mine is 6.5"? Also does your radio have touch screen and full android like chinese ones?
Sorry just seen your message. It comes with a replacement surround. You have to modify your dash surround but its pretty straight forward.

It is an android touchscreen. Does everything a tablet does. Comes with GPS and 4G antennas and you can also put a SIM card in it or connect it to your phone via WiFi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Sorry just seen your message. It comes with a replacement surround. You have to modify your dash surround but its pretty straight forward.

It is an android touchscreen. Does everything a tablet does. Comes with GPS and 4G antennas and you can also put a SIM card in it or connect it to your phone via WiFi.
I have pm'd you mate. I'll take it and give it a try
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top