Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
TL;DR I'm a hard driver. I need new brakes. Redstuff or carbon fiber and why?

As the title suggests, I am in the market for a brake upgrade. I don't track, but you wouldn't know it by how I drive daily. I went through my last two sets of OEMs in little less than 10k mi. each and warped the rotors. Yea, I drive it hard, and on the brakes a lot so I wasn't that surprised. I'm not really after getting more miles out of my brakes, but it would be a welcome side effect. What I am after is I would like the same stopping power from proper bedding to 10k mi. And if I never warp another set of rotors, it will be a day too soon.

I've done a lot of research, and I am more confused now than when I started. The one constant I am pretty sure of is the recommendation of Redstuff which will be my go-to based on this thread. Too many threads have Hawk on the fence so I am opting to trust EBC over Hawk. I'm not putting the brand down, just that every discussion seems divided down the middle where Redstuff is firmly a favorite among hard drivers. I'm sure they're equally stellar products, and brakes need to be fit to the driver, not one size fits all.

I found what I think is a good kit (the EBC S4KF1568 Brake Kit), but I am still open to suggestion. The jury is still out on drilled/slotted vs not. Research shows that it's more of a cosmetic detail over improved performance, but that's just something I read.

Where I am confused is all the discussion about carbon fiber pads and rotors. I read where they are heavily used on race cars and the concept sounds amazing. I mean having your brakes actually get better the hotter they get? It seems like a dream come true!