Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought the car used 3 years ago with 60,000km now at 172,000km. I drive a lot for work as I work in the automotive parts industry. Car was previously owned by a guy who lived in urban area so lots of short trips suspected. I have had a persistent shudder at idle for ages, I’ve routinely used a direct injection cleaner, that helped for a bit but the problem returned. I did all the usual, replaced plugs, coils, cleaned Maf sensor... but problem kept coming back. I had the pcv fail and oil consumption went up, I replaced it and oil consumption decreased, but misfire was worse, engine light started to come on, due to misfire, So I knew it was time to get a de carbon service. Took it to first shop, they “de carboned” the intake and installed 4 new Bosch injectors I supplied and the problem if anything was worse after the service. They performed a few diagnostic checks and said, “Your going to have to take it to the dealer”. Engine light came on consistently due to misfire.

I was pretty pissed, here’s a shop with a “reputation“ for being a good independent euro shop giving me the kiss off. So I took it to the shop I wanted too in the first place, even though they are 150km away from my house. I drove the car there and aside from poor idle, the car drove pretty “normally“ After my car passed all diagnostic checks, and aside from them saying my timing system sounds very noisy and may need service, the the misfire persisted, they started the top end tear down to see what was going on.