Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everone and first i would like to say we dont have an A5 but A1 so im sorry if this isnt the place to ask but i am at a loss and any advice help would be greatly appreciated!?, my son came across this webpage AudiEnthusiasts Master and it started the ball rolling :rolleyes: so i emiled them asking for advice but still waiting for a reply but now i realise they are in the usa, so this is the email i sent them.......
"i hope you receive this and could possibly point me/us in the right direction if you would be so kind, so the reason I'm contacting you is I brought my son his first car which is a 2011 A1, the dealer who sold us the car said that the satnav would never work here in the uk because the car came from Japan so my son has lived with it for just over a year now and wasn't bothered by it until recently when he stumbled across your webpage (audi enthusiasts) explaining how to get it to work by changing the firmware ?, so I took your instructions/car to my local garage who do all the repairs and asked them to do it for us but they didn't want to just in case it goes wrong so they activated the green menu for us and said try it yourselves, we had a go and managed to get to step No.8 in your instructions but we are now stuck on what firmware and where to buy it ? if you could please advise ?,"

Can anyone on here help in any way with whether this willl even work or am i wasting my time?... If i am please advise so i can tell my teen its not possible as he is driving me mad now!

thankyou in advance for any replies
 

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
@Moaning teen : Your A1 could be fitted with MMI 3G+ for Japan (PR-8DZ) or RMC (PR-8AL), though obviously MMI since you state the system has navigation (and the GEM). Post a picture of the "Version information" screen (from MENU > MMI Setup). Region change is relatively simple. Changing regional language support from English, not so simple. --g
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
wow thanks for the reply and i'm starting to think this could be beyond me 😂😂😂, my local garage who switched on the menu thing on for us said we might need this infomation and took these pictures for us... if it helps ?, thanks B.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
Given the "Media version" info, the EU firmware for your A1 MMI 3G+ system is HERE. The first screen looks to be from the ODBeleven app and shows information about the radio module, which is separate from the MMI main unit in the dash. I don't recognize the format of the "Nav. database version" (even with japanese characters). The Green Engineering Menu may offer more accurate information if you can navigate to the /nav menu. Alas, the MMI 3G+ system used in the A1 is not the same as in A4/A6+ models of that generation. --g
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
thanks for help (y), when my son gets home from work he can read this and have ago :rolleyes:, if he figures it out then whats the next step please ? and are we doing the right thing following the audienthusiasts instructions ?.
 

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
The Audi Enthusiasts guide is useful insofar as it describes the MMI 3G+ system (firmware starts with "HN+"). Not many of us in NA will have direct experience with the MMI fitted in the A1, as the A1 wasn't available here. I'd say start with the Green Engineering Menu (GEM):
/nav > databaseupdate
/nav > diagvalues
/nav > engineering
in addition to the /system > internal screen from Audi Enthusiasts. --g
 

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
Check the SD card: the smaller, the better (say, 2 GB rather than 32 GB); name brand (Samsung, Sandisk) vs generic/off-brand; NO micro SD cards in an adapter; formatted as FAT32; extract directly to the SD card so that the release "metainfo2.txt" file is in the top/root directory/folder of the card; and avoid doing this on a Mac, since the Mac OS Finder creates hidden folders that cause MMI scripts & updates to fail. --g
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
ok thanks for the info... the first card was an 8GB Sd but now I’m just re-doing it onto a 2GB SanDisk on a normail windows 10 pc, please can i just clarify something...in your earlier post i didn't really understand :oops: when you mention this...
/nav > databaseupdate
/nav > diagvalues
/nav > engineering
in addition to the /system > internal screen...
Is this something else i should be doing ???
 

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
@Moaning teen : You're changing the system region from JP to EU, to you should likely look at the settings on the GEM screens noted above, and probably the /swdl screen (so the firmware update doesn't fail on the region change). Since there's not a whole lot of information on the interwebz about successful JP to EU A1 MMI region changes, you would do the community a benefit by documented as much of this as you can. Just my 2p. --g
 
  • Like
Reactions: JohnS4

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
how about emergency update like this ??
 

·
Registered
2014 A4Q/8K 6MT MMI 3G+
Joined
·
433 Posts
ok thanks for the info... the first card was an 8GB Sd but now I’m just re-doing it onto a 2GB SanDisk on a normail windows 10 pc, please can i just clarify something...in your earlier post i didn't really understand :oops: when you mention this...
/nav > databaseupdate
/nav > diagvalues
/nav > engineering
in addition to the /system > internal screen...
Is this something else i should be doing ???
Can you start the Green Engineering Menu (GEM) ?
If you can get into the GEM, does your MMI have the screens I mention above ?
If yes to both, post them here for further discussion. --g
 

·
Registered
A8 2015
Joined
·
121 Posts
Just tried it again with the smaller SanDisk sd card (formatted fat32) and double checked the all the instructions from the AudiEnthusiasts Master and also made sure the "metainfo2.txt" file was present and done the same again :confused: ???
You ARE running this from the menu you get with CAR and MENU aren't you; the update you get off the standard Car Systems doesn't work!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
yes i was following the AudiEnthusiasts Master instruction to the letter!, this turned into abit of a personal challange 😧, But now i think i may have made a bit of a breakthrough after countless google hours sufing the net, apparently the Japanese mmi are manufactured by a different company even though they look identical , they will not do the same thing as the european and American ones... so if it was an american unit it would work as per the instructions But no one seems to know how to do the Japanese spec one! As apparently they have different firmware and software so im told so that does make a bit of sense?!
So i need to try find someone ( maybe on this forum) who has actaully done a jap spec one?
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top