Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I started noticing a whining coming from the front end of my car, when coasting from around 40-20mph primarily, but it seems to be most speeds now.

I've started noticing it now (with all the radio off) from 60-40mph too, and it somewhat seems to be getting a bit louder (Or It's annoying me and I can't stop hearing it maybe).

It's the S Tronic, 3.0 TDI 2013. In the past week I've had 4 brand new tyres, 4-wheel alignment and did an S Tronic service (2nd one it's had - 73k miles now), so it wont be any of those causing it.

Or am I overthinking it, does the 3.0 TDI have engine whine? Is this normal?

I understand it's a shot in the dark, but just wondering has anyone had any whining from the front before, or any tips on how I can debug/figure out what the noise is coming from, what's causing it?

I am no mechanic, but I feel as if it's a transmission noise, but I'm really hoping it isn't. Does anyone have any tips on how I can troubleshoot this with any tests to check if it could be anything else?

Appreciate any help, thanks!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Just to add to this, I only hear this on the overrun, when coasting and foot is off the accelerator. As soon as I touch the accelerator I can't hear it, until I let off again and then it whines down.

Would really like to hear if anyone else has this, if it's normal or what - a bit worrying as I notice it more and more, and now at higher speeds too. Any ideas anyone??

·
Registered
538 Posts
I have a similar whining coming from the front right side. Based on my research, the gears in your differential are worn or the front wheel bearing is starting to go out.