3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 Old 14th September 2014, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

DIY: S5 4.2 Thermostat replacement Step by Step

Hi all,

This is my first time DIY post. please be gentle...

So a couple weeks ago I was on the highway and I noticed my coolant temperature was much lower than normal. The normal gauge indication is halfway but I was seeing 1/4. Then when I went into the city and was driving at slower speeds the coolant temperature went up to around the normal value. Immediately I was thinking (and hoping) thermostat because of the symptoms. Next day I started the car and held the upper rad hose while the car ran from a cold start. The hose heated up slowly proving me it's probably the thermostat. Later that day I also got a check engine light. P2181, my coolant temperature is not at the expected value....which makes sense given the situation.

Reading through the forums I saw that people were getting quoted 5 hours of labor for a thermostat fix at the dealership. With the labor and parts this would run over $1000. I futher kept searching through the forums and I came across an article where user ClubSport described how he did have success in the replacement by himself. This lead me to give it a shot and try it out.

I got the thermostat at the dealer because I was not willing to wait for an online order. I also live in Canada so it would probably cost extra for shipping and duty. Those living in the states and who have time to wait, I suggest ordering it from a number of online parts sites. Around $80 for the part. I ended up paying $200CAD at the dealer. Also, the thermostat is an assembly part. It comes together with the housing and you replace both at the same time.

I will now go into the process:

Parts and stuff required:

1. Thermostat assembly ~$200 (Includes thermostat, housing, and gasket. DON'T buy extra gasket, it is already included)