Engine Mods - Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 20th April 2017, 06:34 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Engine Mods

Hi All,

I am new to the A5 forum and just bought my 59 plate Audi A5 3.0tdi recently, I am looking to do the following mods:

- Darkside Tuning Intercooler
- Darkside/Supersprint downpipe (DPF Delete)
- Backbox delete
- EGR Delete
- Swirl Flap Delete (common problem, deletion via software)
- Remap

In terms of the downpipe my A5 3.0 TDI is a 59 plate coupe quattro and I need help with what version downpipe I get, is it short or long?

Also what is the best way to remove the swirl flaps as I've heard they cause problems eventually...

Who is the best place to do all the following? (I am based in the midlands).

With the mods above what HP will I achieve?

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 21st April 2017, 02:59 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)

Great choice, I have the same, but slightly earlier in 2009.

I want to do the intercooler upgrade as I hear it is beneficial, more so after a remap.
DPF delete, I've left mine in place. Unless you're going for a high stage of tune, or louder noise removing the DPF won't give much benefit. I hear it's good up to 320-330bhp. Also you will have to replace the down pipe with the DPF each year for your MOT as it will fail without a 'DPF' in place. Also it will be short DPF, the longer ones were upto 2007/2008, I think.
I did a DIY back box delete, cost me 140 and on rolling road I got 260bhp so +15bhp.
EGR delete can only be done with DPF delete as DPF will throw errors.
Swirl flap is a 'common' problem that can be fixed by modified actuator arms for about a tenner, then no more problems. These are beneficial to the way your engine makes power. Remove these and you will lose bottom end grunt.