MMI 3G Basic upgrade - Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 30th August 2016, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Question MMI 3G Basic upgrade

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the Audi's world with my 2012 A4 [The old shape] and after I bought it i was surprised that's it doesn't have the joystick on the knob button so done a research and found out that my car is equipped with MMI 3G basic with DVD based Sat-Nav.
I'd like to have it upgraded to MMI 3G+ HD and i had a look on the internet and I located a company near London but the guys are on a next level thing their minimum prices like £1600 upwards.
I was wondering if I can buy the kit myself of ebay from scrappers that is tested and working and fit it myself and code it ... But I see that impossible without your help guys .. I'm an IT engineer so not too bat with tech stuff but never done such things like that in a car before and hopefully I can do it and save some £££

One more thing .. as far as i know the 3G basic comes with 6.5" LCD ... will that fit on the 3G+ HD system or not ? can I upgrade the screen to 7" or not as well ?

Thanks in advance for each member will post a reply trying to help me out with a link for some stuff to buy or an advise that will help me down that rout.
Cheers everyone
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 30th August 2016, 11:38 PM

Quoted: 35 Post(s)

You have to upgrade the screen (and its surround) to 7", get the HD headunit and change the centerconsole for one with a joystick. I am not sure if you can use your current wireloom, might have to change or adapt that as well. You may have to change the radiobox also.

A5 Coupé '08
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Contact me for rear LED adapters and other wire harnasses for retrofitting.
post #3 of 13 Old 31st August 2016, 12:06 AM Thread Starter