Audi A5 Forum & Audi S5 Forum banner

Audi a5 3.0 tdi brakes upgrade???

8K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  A5strian 
#1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'v recently has some tuning work done to my 3.0 tdi a5 s line, (custom dpf delete downpipe, stage 2 revo map and new hybrid turbo) car is currently running at approx 340bhp, anyway obviously with all this extra power the brakes are constantly overheating, so I'm looking for some advice on upgrading the brakes. I dont necessary want to spent a fortune as the new upgrades have set me back almost 3k. Anyway if anyone has any advice on upgraded brakes it would be much appreciated. Thanks

#2 ·
The easy route you'll find is new pads and fluids. Not that I am an expert in the field but I'm sure a quick google will yield you some results, EBC, Ferrado (spelling?) spring to mind, I've heard the name Motul for some sort of race fluid that'll presumably have a different boiling point than the run of the mill brake fluid. Braided hoses would be the next step, but for a true brake upgrade there is no way around a Big Brake Kit.

BBK's run slightly different sizes, from 355mm up to 390mm seem to be the standard for fronts, the larger diameter means you'll have a longer arm and a significantly greater brake torque exerted on the wheel, as well as better heat dissipation through double discs which are vented and also they are of the floating type. The caliper is multi piston for greater force as well as lower unsprung weight due to it being cast/forged in the more expensive variants, add it all up you'll get a vastly improved braking performance.

The obvious downside is cost, as they are usually 2x or 3x the cost of a normal set of brakes, but you are essentially buying the disc, pad AND caliper, which would be expensive regardless should you go OEM. Granted once you've upgraded you'll only have to do pads thereafter, as with a normal brake pad change.